The State Is Not On Your Side After A DUI
In 2018, North Carolina had the fourth-highest number of DUI arrests per capita in the country. Nearly a third of all traffic deaths in the state were the result of drunk driving incidents. Thus, the Tarheel State has implemented severe and complex penalties for drivers convicted of driving under the influence.
If you are facing DUI charges in Winston-Salem or surrounding Forsyth County, contact Tuttle Law for help. Our lawyer offers aggressive and compassionate representation to help prevent a single mistake from costing you your license and ability to drive.
DUI Penalties In North Carolina
North Carolina has instituted six levels of sentencing for drunk driving offenses. Judges determine the sentencing level based on the severity of your offense. The judge will consider your circumstances and decide whether there are mitigating or aggravating factors that should reduce or worsen your sentence. Aggravating factors may include a high blood alcohol content or a collision. Mitigating factors may include the unexpected effects of a prescribed drug or the relative safety of your driving.
Level 5 – A level five sentence is the lowest level of sentencing for DUIs. Jail time can be as little as 24 hours or as long as 60 days. Fines for a level five offense do not exceed $200.
Level 4 – Level four carries a jail sentence of 48 hours to 120 days. Fines do not exceed $500.
Level 3 – A level three sentence carries a minimum jail sentence of 72 hours and a maximum sentence of six months. Fines do not exceed $1,000.
Level 2 – Fines for a level two offense can reach $2,000. Level two offenders can spend between seven days and 12 months in jail.
Level 1 – Level one imposes up to $4,000 in fines and a minimum of 30 days in jail. The maximum jail sentence for level one is 24 months.
Aggravated Level 1 – If a judge finds that there were three or more gross aggravating factors involved, an offender may incur an aggravated level one sentence. A gross aggravating factor could be a passenger under the age of 18, driving with a license that has been revoked for DUI or a collision that caused serious injury to another individual. Aggravated level one offenders face a fine of up to $10,000 and between 12 and 36 months in jail.
DUIs Have Serious Implications For Your Future. Act Now.
When you are facing a drunk driving charge, your freedom and your reputation are at stake. Attorney Lauren Tuttle invests herself in every one of her clients and will mount an aggressive defense to protect your future. Call our office at 336-276-0789 or contact us online to schedule an initial consultation.